Work Package Brief for Graphic Designer

My latest project…

The Nave(TN) is a movement of collaborating creatives who make silence-breaking Statement Art, using their collective voice to make a difference in society.

… Excuse the wanky wording. I will be working on this next Friday with my sister(from another mister) Aoife.

How do you say you want to make art, discussing societies issues to help people and not sound like a wanker? Is there a way? I suppose we will find out next Friday.

Anyway, essentially TN holds guerrilla style collaborative events. They pop up around London, taking over the most unlikely places. We set a theme and invite creatives to express through art, fash ,music  (any creative medium) their feelings on what is happening in society now.

The next events theme is ‘Surgery Slave’. The idea is about the media’s manipulation to sell plastic surgery and its effects on society, particularly young girls

I just started writing a work package for the graphic designer. A graphic designer is needed to create content that will be used to advertise the event to other creatives in the lead up to the event.

I met Huma through The Nave Facebook group. She liked The Nave concept and as she was freelancing she said she would like to get involved in between jobs.

I have created a brief for her covering, What The Nave is meant to achieve?, Tones and Style, Copy, Images, Design Specifications and Timelines. It outlines that The Nave needs 28 images(or other forms of content ie gifs)made up of 14 for email marketing and 14 for social media. There is a logic to this but I wont bore you with the details.

I also prepared a spreadsheet of all my ridiculous ideas. For a small example of how ridiculous.. some involve stealing mass amounts of burger king knives and a lot of raw meat.. All shall be revealed 😉

I am coming to a bit of a halt at the end when trying to finish this  briefoff and I reckon this is because this needs a bit of a collaborative session to discuss how to weave the ideas into the campaign. I’ve emailed Huma to see if she is up for this. I may also extend this to a few more graphic designers I know, as it seems like quite a lot of work.

If I had to drill through all my rambling and examples I suppose the main thing is that the content needs to feel as creepy as Aphex Twins, Windowlicker Video

(Anything Chris Cunningham really .. Die Antwood  are spot on too..)

…done in the style of Saint Hoax and I think we have a winning combination.

Dont have a fucking clue what I am on about? Stay watching to see it come to light.

Leave a Reply

